بناء عالم خالٍ من النفايات الفائز

Italy

مدينة ميلان

نهدر ثلث المواد الغذائية التي ننتجها على مستوى العالم، وكل ما نهدره ممَّا يؤكل يستخدم موارد ثمينة، ويزيد الضغط على قطاع الزراعة، وتتسبب منظومة الغذاء العالمية في نسبة تتراوح من 25 إلى 30٪ من انبعاثات غازات الاحتباس الحراري على مستوى العالم، ويعاني مئات الملايين من انعدام الأمن الغذائي في الوقت ذاته.

وهكذا تعمل «مراكز المخلفات الغذائية» في مدينة ميلان على علاج مشكلتين في آن واحد، فقد خرجت تلك الفكرة إلى النور في عام 2019 بهدف التقليل من إهدار الطعام إلى النصف بحلول عام 2030، بحيث يعمل كل مركز على استعادة المواد الغذائية من المتاجر ومقاصف الشركات بالدرجة الأولى وإعطائها للمنظمات غير الحكومية التي توزعها على المواطنين الأشد احتياجًا.

وميلان هي أول مدينة كبرى تطبق سياسة للمخلفات الغذائية على مستوى المدينة بأكملها تشمل المؤسسات العامة وبنوك الطعام والجمعيات الخيرية والمنظمات غير الحكومية والجامعات والشركات والأعمال التجارية الخاصة. وتؤتي تلك السياسة ثمارها، إذ يوجد في المدينة اليوم ثلاثة مراكز للمخلفات الغذائية، يستعيد كل منها نحو 130 طنًا من المواد الغذائية سنويًا، أو 350 كجم يوميًا؛ أي ما يعادل 260,000 وجبة تقريبًا.

فقد وضعت ميلان نموذجًا يمكن تعميمه في أرجاء العالم، وإذا حذت مدن أكثر حذو ميلان، فقد تصبح المدن واحدة من أعظم مقدراتنا في تقدم البشرية نحو عالم خالٍ من النفايات.

يمكنكم معرفة المزيد

متأهلونا

قررنا بناء عالم لا يتحول فيه شيء إلى نفايات، بحيث تصبح بقايا عملية من العمليات المواد الخام للعملية التالية، كما هي الحال في الطبيعة؛ وهكذا سنمنح جائزة «إيرث شوت» لأبرز الجهود القادرة على النهوض بهذا التحدي. تعرَّف على المتأهلين الذين سيساعدوننا على تحقيق هذا الهدف من خلال حلولهم المذهلة.

بناء عالم خالٍ من النفايات المتأهلون

Kenya

شركة «سانرجي»

تتجلَّى أزمة في الصرف الصحي وإدارة النفايات في أرجاء العالم النامي فيما تعاني المدن المزدهرة من طوفان من النفايات، فالمدن تفوق شبكات الصرف الصحي في توسعها، ويحتاج العالم إلى طرق نظيفة ومجدية التكلفة لمعالجة النفايات العضوية؛ وهنا يأتي دور شركة «سانرجي».

تنتج الاقتصادات الناشئة ملياري طن من النفايات الصلبة سنويًا، ومن المتوقع أن يرتفع حجمها بنسبة 70٪، ولكن تثبت شركة «سانرجي» بنيروبي أنه يمكن إدارتها بأمان؛ إذ توفر المراحيض الجافة ومجدية التكلفة المقامة وسط المجتمعات المحلية بديلاً نظيفًا وبأسعار ميسورة لمجاري الصرف الصحي، وتعمل الشركة على إزالة نفايات الصرف الصحي من الأحياء الفقيرة وكافة أشكال النفايات العضوية الأخرى من المطابخ ومستودعات التعبئة الزراعية والأسواق بأمان، وتنقلها إلى مصنعها حيث تتغذى عليها يرقات ذبابة الجندي الأسود وتحولها إلى منتجات زراعية آمنة تبيعها للمزارعين المحليين.

تخدم «سانرجي» 140,000 مواطن يوميًا، وتزيل 20,000 طن من النفايات سنويًا، كما تعمل على مكافحة انعدام الأمن الغذائي؛ إذ تساهم منتجاتها الثانوية من السماد العضوي والبروتين الحشري المستخدم كعلف حيواني في زيادة حجم الإنتاج الزراعي بنسبة تصل إلى 30٪، ممَّا يساعد المزارعين على تلبية احتياجات السكان المتزايدين.

تعتبر «سانرجي» أكبر مصنع بالفعل لإعادة تدوير النفايات شرقي وسط إفريقيا، ويريد مؤسسوها إعادة تدوير خمسة ملايين طن أخرى من النفايات على مدار السنوات الخمس المقبلة؛ فهذا حل واسع الحيلة لمشكلة تشمئز منها النفوس.

 

يمكنكم معرفة المزيد

بناء عالم خالٍ من النفايات المتأهلون

Japan

ابتكار «ووتا بوكس»

بات نحو 40% من سكان العالم على وشك المعاناة من «شح المياه» بحلول عام 2050، ويتسبب تغير المناخ والنمو السكاني بالفعل في نقص المياه في أرجاء العالم.

وهكذا تعمل شركة «ووتا» اليابانية الناشئة على تحسين الأمن المائي عن طريق مساعدة الناس على إعادة استخدام المياه المستعملة، فقد تأسست الشركة في عام 2014، ويعد ابتكار «ووتا بوكس» أول منتجاتها، كما يعد الحل الوحيد من نوعه، ويعمل على تحويل أكثر من 98% من المياه المستعملة إلى مياه عذبة.

ولا يقارن حجم ابتكار «ووتا بوكس» بمحطة معالجة المياه العادية، لكنه يفوقها في الكفاءة بنحو 50 مرة، ويمكن توفيره بكميات كبيرة، كما أنَّ تركيبه لا يتطلب وجود بنية تحتية.
وقد ترك هذا الحل أثرًا على أرض الواقع، فقد استخدمه أكثر من 20,000 مواطن في اليابان خلال السنوات الأخيرة بعدما تسببت الفيضانات والأعاصير والزلازل في انقطاع الإمدادات المائية.

ومن شأن الفوز بجائزة «إيرث شوت» مساعدة الشركة على توسيع عملياتها في أرجاء العالم، مع تقليل التكاليف على البلدان النامية. وتأمل «ووتا» أن تجعل تقنيتها تشيع كشيوع مولدات الكهرباء، ويمكنها إذا نجحت إنقاذ العالم من مستقبل يعاني من شح المياه.

يمكنكم معرفة المزيد
Royal Foundation

Build a
Waste-free World Winner

Italy

The City of Milan Food Waste Hubs

A third of all food produced globally is wasted. Each discarded food item uses precious resources and heaps pressure on agriculture. The global food system generates between 25-30% of the world’s total greenhouse gas emissions. Meanwhile, hundreds of millions suffer from food insecurity.

The City of Milan’s Food Waste Hubs tackle two problems in one. Launched in 2019 with the aim of halving waste by 2030, each hub recovers food mainly from supermarkets and companies’ canteens and gives it to NGOs who distribute it to the neediest citizens.

Milan is the first major city to enforce a city-wide food waste policy encompassing public agencies, food banks, charities, NGOs, universities and private businesses. And it is working. Today the city has three Food Waste Hubs, each recovering about 130 tonnes of food per year or 350 kg per day, an estimated 260,000 meals equivalent.

Milan has created a blueprint that can be scaled throughout the world. If more follow Milan’s lead, cities may become one of our greatest assets in humanity’s progress toward a waste free world.

View Website

Our Finalists

We choose to build a world where nothing goes to waste, where the leftovers of one process become the raw materials of the next, just like they do in nature. Meet the Finalists who are going to help us build a waste-free world with their incredible solutions.

Build a Waste-free World Finalists

Kenya

Sanergy

A sanitation and waste management crisis is unfolding across the developing world as booming cities struggle with a deluge of waste. With urban centres outgrowing sewage systems, the world needs clean, cost-effective ways to process organic waste. Enter Sanergy.

Emerging economies generate two billion tons of solid waste each year, a figure set to increase. Sanergy, based in Nairobi, proves it can be managed safely. Locally built, cost-effective dry toilets offer a clean and affordable alternative to sewers. The sanitation waste from slums and all other forms of organic waste from kitchens, agricultural pack houses and markets is safely removed, transported to Sanergy’s factory where it is consumed by black soldier fly larvae and converted to safe agricultural inputs sold to local farmers.

Sanergy serves 140,000 residents daily and removes 20,000 tonnes of waste per year. It also combats food insecurity. Sanergy’s organic fertilizer and insect protein for animal feed boosts farming volumes by up to 30%, helping farmers meet the needs of expanding populations.

Sanergy is already the largest waste recycling factory in Eastern Central Africa.  Over the next five years the founders want to repurpose five million further tonnes of waste. It’s a resourceful solution to a mucky problem.

View Website

Build a Waste-free World Finalists

Japan

WOTA BOX

Nearly 40 percent of the world’s population is on track to experience “water stress” by 2050. Climate change and population growth are already driving shortages across the world.

WOTA, a Japanese start-up, wants to improve water security by helping people reuse wastewater. Founded in 2014, the company’s first product, WOTA BOX, is the only solution of its kind, turning more than 98 percent of water waste into clean fresh water.

A fraction of the size of a typical water treatment plant, and over 50 times more efficient, WOTA BOX can be delivered at scale. Plus, installation requires no existing infrastructure.

The solution has already had an impact. In recent years in Japan, more than 20,000 people used them after floods, typhoons, and earthquakes cut off water supplies.

Winning The Earthshot Prize would help expand operations across the world, while lowering costs for developing countries. WOTA hopes to make its technology as commonplace as power generators. If it succeeds, it could save the world from a water stressed future.

View Website
Royal Foundation