共同解决气候问题 获奖者

泰国

AEM 电解槽

Vaitea Cowan 出生在一个受气候变化影响的南太平洋岛国,为了扭转气候变化的不良影响,创立了 Enapter。仅仅三年后,公司的绿色氢气技术便有望改变我们为世界供电的方式。

我们在可再生能源方面已经取得巨大进步。但我们仍然可以走得更远。30% 的能源已经是可再生的,我们需要关注剩下的 70%——从工业到运输领域的不可再生能源。

Enapter 提供了一个清洁的替代方案。其 AEM 电解槽技术将可再生电力转化为零排放的氢气。该技术的开发速度比超乎想象,成本更低,已经为汽车和飞机提供燃料、为工业提供动力、为家庭提供暖气。

这仅仅是个开始。“为地球奋斗奖”的资金将有助于扩大从 2022 年开始的量产规模,同时更快地发展团队并为进一步的研究和开发提供资金。Enapter 到 2050 年愿景是生产世界氢气产量的 10%。

Enapter 表明:面临最大挑战时,我们可以扭转局面。

了解更多

我们的入围者

我们选择通过减少碳排放和建设低碳经济来解决世界气候问题,让每种文化、每个社区和每个国家都能繁荣发展。我们将把“为地球奋斗奖”授予为应对这一挑战而做出最突出努力的人士。会见通过杰出工作帮助我们应对气候变化的入围者。

共同解决气候问题 入围者

尼日利亚

REEDDI 胶囊

Olugbenga Olubanjo 在尼日利亚长大,是无法获得稳定供电的 6 亿非洲人口的一员。他初创了 Reeddi 清洁技术公司,希望改变现状。公司的解决方案既能保护环境,又能提供可靠、廉价的电力。

全球对电力的需求日益增长。需求的增加,特别是在发展中国家,意味着更多的经济增长。但这往往以牺牲环境为代价,因为化石燃料的使用在不断增加。Reeddi 胶囊提供了一个解决方案。通过每天 0.5 美元的价格租借锂电池太阳能能源胶囊,这种解决方案可以减少 30% 的能源成本,促进当地的商业发展。

公司已经为 600 多个家庭和企业每月提供清洁电力,并有望在 2021 年底前每月增加 12,000 个新家庭和企业。

“为地球奋斗奖”的奖金将帮助它走向全球,在 2022 年每月达到 12,000 户。倘若达到这种规模,公司每单位生产成本将减少 30%,将能够成功地利用数据驱动和数字化系统来简化客户获得清洁、可负担能源的过程。

Reeddi 胶囊如果获得成功,将证明清洁能源的获取和经济发展可以齐头并进。

了解更多

共同解决气候问题 入围者

孟加拉国

SOLBAZAAR

全球近 10 亿人缺乏供电。没有电,他们往往燃烧木炭和木材,给人类和地球健康带来可怕的后果。世界需要新的思维方式来减少能源匮乏和排放问题。SOLshare提供了这种思路。
位于孟加拉国的 SOLshare 创建了世界首个点对点的能源交换网络 SOLbazaar。拥有屋顶太阳能电池板的家庭将多余的电力卖回微电网,其他人可以在电网购买。它不仅有助于环境,还为贫困社区提供了一个新颖丰厚的收入来源:太阳。

SOLshare的 72 个网格已经惠及偏远社区的 7,500 多人;还减少了 30% 的排放,并为准消费者实时赚钱。能源贸易已经帮助一些家庭增加 25% 收入。

赢得“为地球奋斗奖”将帮助 SOLshare扩大影响力和业务线,整合孟加拉国偏远地区骨干交通网络——以 175 万电动人力车为基础的微交通。这证明像孟加拉国这样受气候变化威胁最大的国家,可以领导对抗气候变化的斗争。

了解更多
Royal Foundation

Fix Our
Climate Winner

Thailand / Germany / Italy

AEM Electrolyser

Born in a climate-change affected South Pacific Island, Vaitea Cowan co-founded Enapter to turn back the tide. Just three years on, its green hydrogen technology could change the way we power our world.

We have made huge advances in renewable energy. But we can still go further. With 30% of our energy already renewable, we need to focus on the 70% that remains: non-renewable energy that powers everything from industry to transport.

Enapter provides a clean alternative. Its AEM Electrolyser technology turns renewable electricity into emission-free hydrogen gas. Developed quicker and cheaper than once thought possible, the technology already fuels cars and planes, powers industry and heats homes.

This is just the start. Funding from winning The Earthshot Prize would help scale mass production, which is planned to begin in 2022, while growing the team faster and funding further research and development. By 2050, Enapter’s vision is to account for 10% of the world’s hydrogen generation.

Enapter shows us that, when faced with the greatest of challenges, we can turn back the tide.

View Website

Our Finalists

We choose to fix the world’s climate by cutting out carbon and building a carbon-neutral economy that lets every culture, community and country thrive. Meet the Finalists who are going to help us tackle climate change with their astounding work.

Fix Our Climate Finalists

Nigeria

Reeddi Capsules

Olugbenga Olubanjo grew up in Nigeria as one of 600 million Africans without reliable electricity access. He founded Reeddi, a cleantech start-up, to change this. The solution both protects the environment and provides reliable, affordable electricity.

Global demand for electricity is growing. Increased demand, especially in developing countries, means more economic growth. But too often this comes at the expense of the environment, as fossil fuel use grows. Reeddi Capsules provide a solution. Its solar-powered energy capsule, a lithium battery, can be rented and returned for $0.50 a day, cutting energy costs by 30% and boosting local businesses.

The company already provides clean electricity to over 600 combined households and businesses monthly and is on track to adding 12,000 new households and businesses monthly by the end of 2021.

Funding from The Earthshot Prize, however, would help it go global, reaching 12,000 households per month in 2022. At this scale, the company’s production costs per unit would be cut by 30% and Reeddi would be able to successfully utilize data-driven and digitally-enabled systems to simplify customers’ journey to accessing clean, affordable energy.

If Reeddi Capsules succeeds, it will prove clean energy access and economic development can go hand in hand.

View Website

Fix Our Climate Finalists

Bangladesh

SOLBAZAAR

Across the world, close to a billion people have no electricity. Without it, they often burn charcoal and wood, with dire consequences for human and planetary health. The world needs new thinking to reduce energy poverty and emissions.

SOLshare provides it. Bangladesh-based SOLshare created SOLbazaar, the world’s first peer-to-peer energy exchange network. Homes with a rooftop solar panel sell any excess electricity into a microgrid network where others can buy it. It helps the environment, but also gives poor communities a new and plentiful source of income: the sun.

SOLshare’s 72 grids have already helped more than 7500 people in remote communities. They also reduce emissions by 30% and make money for its prosumers in real-time. Energy trading has boosted some household incomes by 25%.

Winning The Earthshot Prize would help SOLshare expand its reach and business line, integrating micromobility based on 1.75 million e-rickshaws, the country’s remote transportation backbone. It’s proof that the nations most threatened by climate change — like Bangladesh — can lead the fight against it.

View Website
Royal Foundation