إصلاح مناخنا البيئي الفائز

Thailand / Germany / Italy

المحلل الكهربائي بغشاء التبادل الأنيوني

وُلدت ڤايتيا كوان في إحدى الجزر المتضررة من تغير المناخ جنوبي المحيط الهادئ، فشاركت في تأسيس شركة «إنابتر» لقلب الموازين. وبعد مرور ثلاث سنوات فحسب على استخدام تكنولوجيا الهيدروجين الخضراء، يمكن القول إنَّ هذه التكنولوجيا يمكنها تغيير سبل توفير الطاقة لعالمنا.

فقد حققنا إنجازات هائلة في مجال الطاقة المتجددة فيما يتعلق الكهرباء، إلَّا أنَّ الكهرباء لا تمثل إلَّا نحو 30٪ من إجمالي مصادر الطاقة، وما زلنا بحاجة إلى المضي قدمًا، بالتركيز على نسبة الـ 70٪ من الطاقة التي تشغل الصناعة والتدفئة والنقل وغيرها الكثير والكثير؛ إذ ما يزال الوقود الأحفوري مصدر هذه الطاقة في كثير من الأحيان.

وتوفر «إنابتر» بديلاً نظيفًا، إذ يعمل محللها الكهربائي بغشاء التبادل الأنيوني على تحويل الكهرباء المتجددة إلى هيدروجين أخضر، وتطورت هذه التكنولوجيا أسرع وأرخص ممَّا كان يُعتقد من قبل، وتعمل بالفعل على إمداد السيارات والطائرات بالطاقة وتشغيل الصناعات وتدفئة المنازل.

وما هذه إلَّا البداية، إذ من شأن التمويل عند الفوز بجائزة «إيرث شوت» مساعدتها على تعزيز الإنتاج على نطاق واسع، المقرر أن يبدأ في عام 2022، مع توسيع فريقها أسرع وتمويل المزيد من جهود البحث والتطوير. وتهدف رؤية «إنابتر» إلى أن تمثل نسبة 10٪ من إنتاج الهيدروجين في العالم بحلول عام 2050.

ونتعلم من «إنابتر» أننا قادرون على قلب الموازين حين نواجه تحديات جسام.

يمكنكم معرفة المزيد

متأهلونا

قررنا إصلاح مناخ العالم عن طريق التخلص من الكربون وبناء اقتصاد محايد كربونيًا يساعد كافة الثقافات والمجتمعات والبلدان على الازدهار؛ وهكذا سنمنح جائزة «إيرث شوت» لأبرز الجهود القادرة على النهوض بهذا التحدي. تعرَّف على المتأهلين الذين سيساعدوننا على التصدي لتغير المناخ من خلال أعمالهم المدهشة.

إصلاح مناخنا البيئي المتأهلون

Nigeria

ابتكار «كبسولات ريدي»

نشأ أولوجبنجا أولوبانجو في نيجيريا في غمار 600 مليون إفريقي لا يحصلون على الكهرباء من مصدر اعتمادي، فأسس شركة «ريدي» الناشئة للتكنولوجيا النظيفة، لتغيير هذا الوضع، ويساهم هذا الحل في حماية البيئة وتوفير مصدر اعتمادي للكهرباء بأسعار ميسورة.

يتزايد الطلب العالمي على الكهرباء، ويترتب على زيادة الطلب، لا سيما في البلدان النامية، زيادة النمو الاقتصادي. ولكن يأتي ذلك في أحيان كثيرة على حساب البيئة، جرَّاء التوسع في استخدام الوقود الأحفوري. إلَّا أنَّ «كبسولات ريدي» توفر حلاً، إذ يمكن استئجار كبسولة الطاقة تلك التي تعمل بالطاقة الشمسية، وهي عبارة عن بطارية ليثيوم، وإعادتها مقابل 0.50 دولار في اليوم، ممَّا يخفض تكاليف الطاقة بنسبة 30٪ وينشط الأعمال التجارية المحلية.

توفر الشركة بالفعل الكهرباء النظيفة لأكثر من 600 منزل وعمل تجاري شهريًا، وتسعى لإضافة 12,000 منزل وعمل جديد شهريًا بنهاية عام 2021.

ولكن من شأن التمويل المتوقع من جائزة «إيرث شوت» مساعدتها على التوسع في العالم، لتصل إلى 12,000 منزل شهريًا في عام 2022. وستنخفض في هذه المرحلة تكاليف إنتاج الشركة لكل وحدة بنسبة 30٪ وستكون «ريدي» قادرة على استخدام الأنظمة الرقمية القائمة على البيانات بنجاح للتيسير على عملائها للحصول على طاقة نظيفة وبأسعار ميسورة.

وإذا نجحت «كبسولات ريدي»، فستثبت أنَّ توفير الطاقة النظيفة يمكن ألَّا يتعارض مع التنمية الاقتصادية.

يمكنكم معرفة المزيد

إصلاح مناخنا البيئي المتأهلون

Bangladesh

مشروع «سولبازار»

ما يقرب من مليار إنسان في أرجاء العالم محرومون من الكهرباء، وكثيرًا ما يلجؤون عند حرمانهم منها إلى حرق الفحم والخشب للطهي والتدفئة، ولهذا عواقب وخيمة على صحة الإنسان وسلامة الأرض، وهكذا يحتاج العالم إلى فكر جديد للتخلص من الافتقار إلى الطاقة وتقليل الانبعاثات الكربونية، وتقدم شركة «سولشير» هذا الفكر.

يوجد مقر شركة «سولشير» في بنجلاديش وقد أنشأت مشروع «سولبازار» الذي يعتبر أول شبكة في العالم لتبادل الطاقة بين الناس مباشرة، إذ تبيع المنازل التي بها ألواح شمسية على أسطحها أي كهرباء فائضة عن حاجتها في شبكة مصغَّرة، حيث يمكن للآخرين شراؤها، ويساعد البيئة ويمنح المجتمعات الفقيرة مصدرًا جديدًا ووفيرًا للدخل: أي الشمس.

ساعدت شبكات «سولشير» وعددها 72 شبكة أكثر من 7,500 مواطن في المجتمعات النائية، كما تقلل الانبعاثات بنسبة 30٪ وتحقق أرباحًا فورية للمستهلكين المنتجين، وساهم تبادل الطاقة في زيادة دخول بعض الأسر بنسبة 25٪.

ومن شأن الفوز بجائزة «إيرث شوت» مساعدة «سولشير» على توسيع نطاق أعمالها والوصول إلى وسائل المواصلات الصغيرة القائمة على 1.75 مليون عربة من عربات الريكشا الكهربائية [الأشبه بالتوكتوك] التي تشكل العمود الفقري للنقل والمواصلات في البلاد. وهذا خير دليل على أنَّ البلدان الأكثر تعرضًا للخطر جرَّاء تغير المناخ – أمثال بنجلاديش – يمكنها قيادة جهود مكافحته.

يمكنكم معرفة المزيد
Royal Foundation

Fix Our
Climate Winner

Thailand / Germany / Italy

AEM Electrolyser

Born in a climate-change affected South Pacific Island, Vaitea Cowan co-founded Enapter to turn back the tide. Just three years on, its green hydrogen technology could change the way we power our world.

We have made huge advances in renewable energy. But we can still go further. With 30% of our energy already renewable, we need to focus on the 70% that remains: non-renewable energy that powers everything from industry to transport.

Enapter provides a clean alternative. Its AEM Electrolyser technology turns renewable electricity into emission-free hydrogen gas. Developed quicker and cheaper than once thought possible, the technology already fuels cars and planes, powers industry and heats homes.

This is just the start. Funding from winning The Earthshot Prize would help scale mass production, which is planned to begin in 2022, while growing the team faster and funding further research and development. By 2050, Enapter’s vision is to account for 10% of the world’s hydrogen generation.

Enapter shows us that, when faced with the greatest of challenges, we can turn back the tide.

View Website

Our Finalists

We choose to fix the world’s climate by cutting out carbon and building a carbon-neutral economy that lets every culture, community and country thrive. Meet the Finalists who are going to help us tackle climate change with their astounding work.

Fix Our Climate Finalists

Nigeria

Reeddi Capsules

Olugbenga Olubanjo grew up in Nigeria as one of 600 million Africans without reliable electricity access. He founded Reeddi, a cleantech start-up, to change this. The solution both protects the environment and provides reliable, affordable electricity.

Global demand for electricity is growing. Increased demand, especially in developing countries, means more economic growth. But too often this comes at the expense of the environment, as fossil fuel use grows. Reeddi Capsules provide a solution. Its solar-powered energy capsule, a lithium battery, can be rented and returned for $0.50 a day, cutting energy costs by 30% and boosting local businesses.

The company already provides clean electricity to over 600 combined households and businesses monthly and is on track to adding 12,000 new households and businesses monthly by the end of 2021.

Funding from The Earthshot Prize, however, would help it go global, reaching 12,000 households per month in 2022. At this scale, the company’s production costs per unit would be cut by 30% and Reeddi would be able to successfully utilize data-driven and digitally-enabled systems to simplify customers’ journey to accessing clean, affordable energy.

If Reeddi Capsules succeeds, it will prove clean energy access and economic development can go hand in hand.

View Website

Fix Our Climate Finalists

Bangladesh

SOLBAZAAR

Across the world, close to a billion people have no electricity. Without it, they often burn charcoal and wood, with dire consequences for human and planetary health. The world needs new thinking to reduce energy poverty and emissions.

SOLshare provides it. Bangladesh-based SOLshare created SOLbazaar, the world’s first peer-to-peer energy exchange network. Homes with a rooftop solar panel sell any excess electricity into a microgrid network where others can buy it. It helps the environment, but also gives poor communities a new and plentiful source of income: the sun.

SOLshare’s 72 grids have already helped more than 7500 people in remote communities. They also reduce emissions by 30% and make money for its prosumers in real-time. Energy trading has boosted some household incomes by 25%.

Winning The Earthshot Prize would help SOLshare expand its reach and business line, integrating micromobility based on 1.75 million e-rickshaws, the country’s remote transportation backbone. It’s proof that the nations most threatened by climate change — like Bangladesh — can lead the fight against it.

View Website
Royal Foundation