Skip to main content

Introducing the Founding Trustees of The Earthshot Prize


We are delighted to announce that Christiana Figueres, David Fein and ‘Tokunboh Ishmael have been named as the first Trustees of The Earthshot Prize, bringing a wealth of knowledge, experience and passion to the Prize as we prepare to become an independent charity later in the year.

Christiana Figueres, who has been a Member of The Earthshot Prize Council since 2020, will take the position of the Chair of the Board. She is the co-founder of Global Optimism and former UN Climate Chief responsible for the delivery of the landmark Paris Agreement on Climate Change in 2015.

David Fein will hold the position of Vice Chair. He is Special Counsel at Paul Weiss, Rifkind, Wharton & Garrison LLP and has a long history of working with The Duke of Cambridge and The Royal Foundation as Chair of The Royal Foundation’s United for Wildlife Financial Taskforce.

‘Tokunboh Ishamael will become a Founding Trustee, and joins us with a background as the co-founder and Managing Director of Alitheia Capital, a pioneer ESG and Impact Investing Fund Management firm.

These three extraordinary individuals will work alongside future board members to bring independent, diverse and expert perspectives to guide and oversee The Earthshot Prize.

“We shall help to provide speed and scale to the solutions which are already underway, while opening new space for additional groundbreaking concepts and determined action. This is no time to recede, this is the time to courageously proceed with vision and conviction.”

Christiana Figueres, Chair of The Earthshot Prize

The Earthshot Prize