让海洋生机盎然 获奖者

巴哈马群岛

CORAL VITA

海洋变暖和酸化将在 2050 年前摧毁 90% 以上的珊瑚礁;对于依赖珊瑚礁生存的四分之一海洋生物来说,这是一个死刑判决。对于依赖珊瑚礁获益的十亿人来说,这也将是一场灾难。

Sam Teicher 和 Gator Halpern 在大巴哈马岛创办 Coral Vita 首个场地一年后,飓风多里安摧毁了他们的珊瑚农场。这次遭遇使他们认识到气候危机的严重性,并加强了他们保护珊瑚礁的决心。

Coral Vita 在陆地上种植珊瑚,然后移植到海洋中,为濒临死亡的生态系统带来新生。这种方法使珊瑚的生长速度比传统方法快 50 倍,并提高了对气候变化影响的复原力。

除了恢复珊瑚礁,Teicher 和 Halpern 还与当地社区、政府官员和私营企业合作,加强教育,创造新的就业前景,并建立一个模式,为环境保护注入更多资金。Coral Vita 不仅给海洋,也给沿海经济带来了新的活力。

利用 Coral Vita 的方法,单个农场都可能为整个国家提供珊瑚。他们最终设想在每个有珊瑚礁的国家建立一个这样的农场网络,创立恢复经济,以保护维持所有人赖以生存的生态系统。赢得该奖项将帮助他们实现这一愿景。

了解更多

我们的入围者

我们选择建设无废世界,让一个过程的废物转化成下一个过程的原料,就像自然界那样运作。我们将把“为地球奋斗奖”授予为应对这一挑战而做出最突出努力的人士。会见通过不可思议的的解决方案帮助我们实现为地球奋斗目标的入围者。

让海洋生机盎然 入围者

美国

原始海洋计划

海洋覆盖地球的 70%。它为数十亿人提供食物,并提供我们呼吸的一半以上氧气。然而,人类的破坏性影响正将海洋推向一个临界点,超过这个临界点,我们可能永远无法恢复。“原始海洋计划”是一个全球性的海洋保护项目,正带头冲锋,避免灾难的发生。

该项目由《国家地理》杂志的驻站探险家 Enric Sala 博士创立。作为一名前大学教授,Sala 在地中海边长大,在那里他亲眼目睹了海洋世界所遭受的破坏。

2008 年,Sala 创立了“原始海洋计划”,汇集了一个由科学家、制片人和政策专家组成的专家团队,希望在 2030 年前保护 30% 的海洋。团队已经出版了 200 多本经同行评议的科学出版物和 30 部记录片,以激励其他人采取行动。

了解更多

让海洋生机盎然 入围者

澳大利亚

活海塘

随着海平面的上升,现在沿海城市的一半海岸线上都有混凝土防御设施。但是这些人工建造的防御设施对海洋生物来说是毁灭性的。在悉尼港开发的“活海塘”项目正在改变这种状况。

沿海城市悉尼特别容易受到海平面上升的影响。因此,海防是适应气候变化的一个重要部分。但这些平坦的混凝土结构对许多海洋生物来说是缺乏庇护所的。

2018 年开发的“活海塘”是悉尼海洋科学研究所的一个旗舰项目,提出一个解决方案。它的栖息地面板安装在海防上,模仿岩石池和红树林根部等自然形态。

仅仅两年后,活海塘的海洋物种就比平面海堤多出 36%。现有 85 个物种在栖息地面板上繁衍。项目并不局限于悉尼。澳大利亚其他三个城市和威尔士、直布罗陀和新加坡的沿海海岸线也已效仿。

“为地球奋斗奖”的奖金将支持全球各地的新研究、教育项目和场所。这将是海洋生物和沿海城市可以共同繁荣的鲜活证据。

了解更多
Royal Foundation

Revive Our
Oceans Winner

Bahamas

Coral Vita

Ocean warming and acidification are set to destroy over 90% of reefs by 2050, a death sentence for the quarter of marine life who need them to survive. It will be a disaster, too, for the billion human lives dependent on the benefits reefs provide.

A year after Sam Teicher and Gator Halpern launched Coral Vita’s first facility in Grand Bahama, Hurricane Dorian destroyed their coral farm. The experience brought home the extent of the climate emergency and strengthened their resolve to protect our reefs.

Coral Vita, which grows coral on land to replant in oceans, gives new life to dying ecosystems. Its methods grow coral up to 50 times faster than traditional methods and improves resilience to the impact of climate change.

As well as restoring reefs, Teicher and Halpern work with local communities, public officials, and private companies to improve education, create new job prospects, and build a model to inject more funding into environmental protection. Coral Vita gives new life not just to the ocean but to coastal economies as well.

With Coral Vita’s methods, a single farm could potentially supply coral for an entire nation, and they ultimately envision a network of such farms in every nation with reefs, kickstarting a restoration economy to preserve the ecosystems that sustain us all. Winning the prize will help them make that vision a reality.

View Website

Our Finalists

We choose to repair and preserve our oceans for future generations. Meet the Finalists whose innovative solutions will help us ensure the ocean can continue to sustain and enrich all life on Earth.

Revive Our Oceans Finalists

USA

Pristine Seas

The ocean covers 70% of the Earth. It provides food for billions and over half the oxygen we breathe. Devastating human impact, however, is pushing the ocean towards a tipping point beyond which we may never recover. Pristine Seas, a global ocean conservation program, is leading the charge to avert catastrophe.

The project was founded by Dr. Enric Sala, National Geographic’s Explorer in Residence. A former university professor, Sala grew up by the Mediterranean Sea, where he saw the destruction wrought on the marine world first-hand.

In 2008, Sala founded Pristine Seas, bringing together an expert team of scientists, filmmakers and policy experts, with the aim to protect 30% of our oceans by 2030. It has already produced over 200 peer-reviewed scientific publications and 30 documentary films to inspire others to action.

So far, Pristine Seas has helped establish 24 marine reserves worldwide, across an area over twice the size of India. Pristine Seas aims to lead a global movement to protect 30% of our ocean by 2030. Winning The Earthshot Prize would scale this conservation mission, boost visibility of ocean issues, help educate a new generation of leaders, and transform economies. If Pristine Seas succeeds, our oceans, and the life they sustain, can be saved.

View Website

Revive Our Oceans Finalists

Australia

Living Seawalls

With sea levels on the rise, concrete defences against the tide now ring half the shorelines of coastal cities. But these artificially built defences can be devastating for marine life. Living Seawalls, a project founded in Sydney Harbour, is changing this.

Sydney, as a coastal city, is especially exposed to rising sea levels. Consequently, sea defences are an important part of climate change adaptation. But these flat, concrete structures are devoid of shelter for many marine organisms.

Founded in 2018, Living Seawalls, a flagship program of the Sydney Institute of Marine Science, has a solution. Its habitat panels, fitted to sea defences, mimic natural formations like rock pools and mangrove roots.

Living Seawalls have 36% more marine species than flat seawalls after only two years. Eighty-five species now thrive among the panels. The project isn’t limited to Sydney. Three other Australian cities and coastal shorelines in Wales, Gibraltar and Singapore have followed suit.

The Earthshot Prize fund would support new research, educational programs and sites across the globe. This would be living, breathing proof marine life and coastal cities can thrive together.

View Website
Royal Foundation