إحياء محيطاتنا الفائز

Bahamas

شركة «كورال ڤيتا»

يوشك ارتفاع درجة حرارة المحيطات وزيادة حموضتها على تدمير أكثر من 90٪ من الشعاب المرجانية بحلول عام 2050، وهذا بمثابة حكم بالإعدام على ربع الأحياء البحرية كافة التي تحتاج إليها للبقاء على قيد الحياة، وسيكون كارثة أيضًا على حياة مليار إنسان يعتمدون على فوائد الشعاب المرجانية.

أطلق سام تيكر وجاتور هالبيرن أول مزرعة تابعة لشركة «كورال ڤيتا» على جزيرة «جراند باهاما» لتربية الشعاب المرجانية، إلَّا أنَّ إعصار «دوريان» دمرها بعد ذلك بعام واحد، فجعلتهما تلك التجربة يدركان حالة الطوارئ المناخية وقوَّت عزمهما على حماية شعابنا المرجانية.
تعمل شركة «كورال ڤيتا» على تربية الشعاب المرجانية على اليابسة لإعادة زراعتها في المحيطات، فتبث الحياة من جديد في النظم البيئية المحتضرة، وتنجح أساليبها في تربية الشعاب المرجانية بسرعة تفوق الأساليب التقليدية بخمسين مرة وتحسن قدرتها على الصمود في وجه تداعيات تغير المناخ.

وعلاوة على استعادة الشعاب المرجانية، يتعاون تيكر وهالبيرن مع المجتمعات المحلية والمسؤولين الحكوميين والشركات الخاصة للنهوض بجهود التوعية البحرية، وتوفير فرص عمل جديدة، وبناء نموذج لضخ مزيد من التمويل في جهود حماية البيئة، وهكذا تبث شركة «كورال ڤيتا» الحياة من جديد في المحيطات وفي الاقتصاديات الساحلية على السواء.

ويمكن لمزرعة واحدة تتبع أساليب «كورال ڤيتا» توفير الشعاب المرجانية لدولة بأكملها، ويضعان في نهاية المطاف تصورًا لشبكة من مثل هذه المزارع في كل دولة بها شعاب مرجانية، ممَّا يساهم في إطلاق اقتصاد لاستعادة النظم البيئية التي نعيش جميعًا على خيرها والحفاظ عليها. ومن شأن الفوز بالجائزة مساعدتهما على تحويل هذه الرؤية إلى واقع.

 

يمكنكم معرفة المزيد

متأهلونا

قررنا إصلاح محيطاتنا والحفاظ عليها للأجيال القادمة؛ وهكذا سنمنح جائزة «إيرث شوت» لأبرز الجهود القادرة على النهوض بهذا التحدي. تعرَّف على المتأهلين الذين ستساعدنا حلولهم المبتكرة على تحقيق هذا الهدف.

إحياء محيطاتنا المتأهلون

USA

برنامج «البحار البكر»

تغطي المحيطات نسبة 70٪ من مساحة الأرض، وتوفر الغذاء للمليارات وتنتج أكثر من نصف الأكسجين الذي نتنفسه. إلَّا أنَّ الأثر البشري المدمر يسير بالمحيطات نحو مرحلة حرجة قد لا نتعافى منها أبدًا، وهكذا يتصدَّر برنامج «البحار البكر» العالمي للحفاظ على المحيطات جهود التغيير لتفادي الكارثة قبل وقوعها.

وقد أسس المشروع الدكتور إنريك سالا الذي يشغل وظيفة «مستكشف ناشيونال جيوغرافيك المقيم»، وقد كان يعمل أستاذًا جامعيًا، ونشأ في منطقة مطلة على البحر المتوسط، وشاهد فيها بعينيه حجم التدمير الذي يلحق بعالم البحار.

وأسس سالا برنامج «البحار البكر» في عام 2008 الذي يضم فريقًا خبيرًا من العلماء والمخرجين وخبراء السياسات، بهدف حماية نسبة 30٪ من محيطاتنا بحلول عام 2030. ونجح الفريق بالفعل في نشر أكثر من 200 بحث في دوريات علمية محكَّمة وإنتاج 30 فيلمًا وثائقيًا من أجل إلهام الآخرين للعمل.

وساهم فريق «البحار البكر» حتى وقتنا هذا في إنشاء 24 محمية بحرية حول العالم على مساحة تزيد على ضعف مساحة الهند، ويهدف إلى قيادة حركة عالمية لحماية نسبة 30٪ من محيطاتنا بحلول عام 2030. ومن شأن الفوز بجائزة «إيرث شوت» النهوض بهذه الرسالة الرامية إلى الحفاظ على الطبيعة، وزيادة إبراز قضايا المحيطات، والمساعدة على تثقيف جيل جديد من القادة، والنهوض بالاقتصادات. وإذا كان النجاح حليف برنامج «البحار البكر»، فيمكن إنقاذ محيطاتنا والحياة التي تحافظ عليها.

يمكنكم معرفة المزيد

إحياء محيطاتنا المتأهلون

Australia

مشروع «أسوار بحرية صالحة للحياة»

تحيط الدفاعات الخرسانية المشيدة لصد المد نصف سواحل المدن الساحلية الآن جرَّاء ارتفاع منسوب مياه البحر، إلَّا أنَّ هذه الدفاعات الصناعية يمكنها تدمير الحياة البحرية، ومن ثمَّ يعمل مشروع «أسوار بحرية صالحة للحياة» الذي انطلق في ميناء سيدني على تغيير هذا الوضع.

وبما أنَّ سيدني من المدن الساحلية، فإنها معرَّضة بشدة لارتفاع منسوب مياه البحر، ومن ثمَّ تعتبر الدفاعات البحرية محورًا من محاور التكيف مع تغير المناخ، إلَّا أنَّ هذه الأسوار الخرسانية المسطحة خالية من المأوى المناسب لكثير من الكائنات البحرية.

ومشروع «أسوار بحرية صالحة للحياة» عبارة عن برنامج ريادي لمعهد سيدني للعلوم البحرية تأسس في عام 2018، وجاء بحل لهذه المشكلة؛ إذ يعمل على تركيب ألواح موئلية على الدفاعات البحرية، وهذه الألواح تحاكي التكوينات الطبيعية كالبرك الصخرية وجذور أشجار القرم [المانجروف].

وتؤوي الأسوار البحرية الصالحة للحياة أنواعًا بحرية تفوق الأسوار المسطحة بنسبة 36% بعد مرور عامين فحسب، إذ يعيش 85 نوعًا حيًا الآن بين تلك الألواح، ولا يقتصر المشروع على مدينة سيدني، فقد حذت حذوها ثلاث مدن أسترالية أخرى وشواطئ ساحلية في ويلز وجبل طارق وسنغافورة.

ومن شأن الفوز بجائزة «إيرث شوت» تمويل الأبحاث الجديدة والبرامج التوعوية والمواقع في أرجاء العالم، وليكونن ذلك دليلاً حيًا على قدرة المجتمعات الساحلية والأحياء البحرية على التعايش.

يمكنكم معرفة المزيد
Royal Foundation

Revive Our
Oceans Winner

Bahamas

Coral Vita

Ocean warming and acidification are set to destroy over 90% of reefs by 2050, a death sentence for the quarter of marine life who need them to survive. It will be a disaster, too, for the billion human lives dependent on the benefits reefs provide.

A year after Sam Teicher and Gator Halpern launched Coral Vita’s first facility in Grand Bahama, Hurricane Dorian destroyed their coral farm. The experience brought home the extent of the climate emergency and strengthened their resolve to protect our reefs.

Coral Vita, which grows coral on land to replant in oceans, gives new life to dying ecosystems. Its methods grow coral up to 50 times faster than traditional methods and improves resilience to the impact of climate change.

As well as restoring reefs, Teicher and Halpern work with local communities, public officials, and private companies to improve education, create new job prospects, and build a model to inject more funding into environmental protection. Coral Vita gives new life not just to the ocean but to coastal economies as well.

With Coral Vita’s methods, a single farm could potentially supply coral for an entire nation, and they ultimately envision a network of such farms in every nation with reefs, kickstarting a restoration economy to preserve the ecosystems that sustain us all. Winning the prize will help them make that vision a reality.

View Website

Our Finalists

We choose to repair and preserve our oceans for future generations. Meet the Finalists whose innovative solutions will help us ensure the ocean can continue to sustain and enrich all life on Earth.

Revive Our Oceans Finalists

USA

Pristine Seas

The ocean covers 70% of the Earth. It provides food for billions and over half the oxygen we breathe. Devastating human impact, however, is pushing the ocean towards a tipping point beyond which we may never recover. Pristine Seas, a global ocean conservation program, is leading the charge to avert catastrophe.

The project was founded by Dr. Enric Sala, National Geographic’s Explorer in Residence. A former university professor, Sala grew up by the Mediterranean Sea, where he saw the destruction wrought on the marine world first-hand.

In 2008, Sala founded Pristine Seas, bringing together an expert team of scientists, filmmakers and policy experts, with the aim to protect 30% of our oceans by 2030. It has already produced over 200 peer-reviewed scientific publications and 30 documentary films to inspire others to action.

So far, Pristine Seas has helped establish 24 marine reserves worldwide, across an area over twice the size of India. Pristine Seas aims to lead a global movement to protect 30% of our ocean by 2030. Winning The Earthshot Prize would scale this conservation mission, boost visibility of ocean issues, help educate a new generation of leaders, and transform economies. If Pristine Seas succeeds, our oceans, and the life they sustain, can be saved.

View Website

Revive Our Oceans Finalists

Australia

Living Seawalls

With sea levels on the rise, concrete defences against the tide now ring half the shorelines of coastal cities. But these artificially built defences can be devastating for marine life. Living Seawalls, a project founded in Sydney Harbour, is changing this.

Sydney, as a coastal city, is especially exposed to rising sea levels. Consequently, sea defences are an important part of climate change adaptation. But these flat, concrete structures are devoid of shelter for many marine organisms.

Founded in 2018, Living Seawalls, a flagship program of the Sydney Institute of Marine Science, has a solution. Its habitat panels, fitted to sea defences, mimic natural formations like rock pools and mangrove roots.

Living Seawalls have 36% more marine species than flat seawalls after only two years. Eighty-five species now thrive among the panels. The project isn’t limited to Sydney. Three other Australian cities and coastal shorelines in Wales, Gibraltar and Singapore have followed suit.

The Earthshot Prize fund would support new research, educational programs and sites across the globe. This would be living, breathing proof marine life and coastal cities can thrive together.

View Website
Royal Foundation