حماية الطبيعة واستعادة بريقها الفائز

كوستاريكا

يعيش في الغابات نصف نباتاتنا وحيواناتنا وثلاثة أرباع طيورنا، وتمتص الكربون من الهواء وتعيد الأكسجين الذي نتنفسه. ولكن تمادى قطع الأشجار خلال عام 2020 أكثر من ذي قبل، ممَّا تسبب في نسبة 10% من الاحتباس الحراري.

فقد تعرَّضت غابات كوستاريكا الشاسعة للتدمير في تسعينيات القرن الماضي، وفقدت نصف حجمها، ولكن كان لدى شعب كوستاريكا ووزارة البيئة في بلادهم خطة لإنقاذها، إذ وضعت الوزارة برامجًا دفعت مقابلاً ماديًا للمواطنين لحماية الغابات وزراعة الأشجار واستعادة النظم البيئية.

وكان لذلك نتائج عظيمة الأثر، إذ تضاعف حجم غابات كوستاريكا، وازدهرت النباتات والحيوانات، فانتعشت السياحة البيئية، وساهمت بمبلغ 4 مليارات دولار في الاقتصاد الوطني.

وتعمل الحكومة الآن على تعميم هذا النهج في المناطق الحضرية، وتعتقد أنه يمكن حماية نسبة 30٪ من أراضي ومحيطات العالم بهذه الطريقة كذلك. ومن شأن الفوز بجائزة «إيرث شوت» مساعدتها على تبادل المعرفة والممارسات على مستوى العالم، لا سيما في جنوب الكرة الأرضية. وشعار كوستاريكا هو «بورا ڤيدا»، أي «الحياة النقية»، ويمكن أن يتردد صدى هذه الكلمات في جنبات العالم عن قريب.

يمكنكم معرفة المزيد

متأهلونا

قررنا الحرص، ولأول مرة في تاريخ البشرية، على أن ينمو عالم الطبيعة ولا ينكمش؛ وهكذا سنمنح جائزة «إيرث شوت» لأبرز الجهود القادرة على النهوض بهذا التحدي. تعرَّف على المتأهلين الذين سيساعدوننا على تحقيق هذا الهدف من خلال حلولهم التي ستغير قواعد اللعبة.

حماية الطبيعة واستعادة بريقها المتأهلون

The Democratic Republic of the Congo

مؤسسة بول بول

كان جون كاهيكوا يحلم خلال نشأته بالعمل مع الغوريلا المهددة بالانقراض، ورأى بعدما أصبح حارسًا للغابات وخبيرًا في التتبع في «منتزه كاهوزي بييجا الوطني» أنَّ مستقبل الغوريلا والمواطنين مرتبطان معًا، على إثر معاناتهم من الفقر والحرب في الكونغو الديمقراطية.

فأنشأ «مؤسسة بول بول» في عام 1992 بعدما سأل أحد الصيَّادين الجائرين عن أسباب لجوئه إلى ذلك، فأجابه بقوله: ”ليس للبطون الجائعة آذان.“ فأدرك أنَّ عليه التركيز على الأسباب الجذرية لإزالة الغابات والصيد الجائر لتناول لحوم الطرائد: أي الفقر والجوع في المجتمع.

وتعمل المؤسسة اليوم على إدارة عدد من المشاريع الزراعية التي تزرع موادًا غذائية منخفضة التكلفة وعالية القيمة الغذائية، وتساعد الصيَّادين الجائرين السابقين على اكتساب مهارات جديدة، وتغرس أهمية الحفاظ على الطبيعة في نفوس الأجيال القادمة، وتوفر سبل الدعم الحيوي للحرَّاس العاملين في المتنزه، ونجحت في زراعة أربعة ملايين شجرة جديدة، ممَّا خلق حاجزًا بين الناس وعالم الطبيعة.

ومن شأن الفوز بجائزة «إيرث شوت» مساعدة المؤسسة على توسيع نطاق عملها، وإبرام اتفاقيات شراء مع البلدان الواقعة شمال العالم لابتكار منتجات جديدة تساهم في حماية الغوريلا.

فكلمة «بول بول» تعني «رويدًا رويدًا» باللغة السواحيلية، وتثبت المؤسسة أنَّ الحفاظ على الطبيعة، مع مرور الوقت وبذل الجهد، يؤتي ثماره. ونجحت المؤسسة من خلال نضالاتها ونجاحاتها في وضع تصور لجهود الحفاظ على الطبيعة يمكن تعميمه في جنبات العالم، لمساعدة الناس والطبيعة على الازدهار معًا.

 

يمكنكم معرفة المزيد

حماية الطبيعة واستعادة بريقها المتأهلون

Switzerland

منصة «ريستور»

لا يوجد سوى نزر يسير من مشاريع استعادة الطبيعة التي تترك أثرًا دائمًا، إذ ينقص الفرق الصغيرة، التي تعمل بمفردها، البيانات وأدوات المراقبة وتبادل الموارد اللازمة لإنجاح عملها، ولذلك يمكن أن تبدو الجهود الصغيرة بلا طائل في مواجهة الأزمة البيئية العالمية، وهكذا يريد الدكتور توماس كراوثر، مؤسس منصة «ريستور»، تغيير هذا الوضع.

تعمل منصة «ريستور» المجانية الإلكترونية على خدمة حركة استعادة الطبيعة، وتشبه منصة «خرائط جوجل» للطبيعة، وتربط الممارسين بالبيانات البيئية وتبني شبكات بين النشطاء والمموِّلين وجمهور المواطنين. وغدت أبرز مجموعات البيانات العلمية، ولأول مرة، في متناول أنصار الحفاظ على الطبيعة، ممَّا يساعد المعرفة المحلية على تحريك التغيير العالمي.

ونجحت منصة «ريستور» منذ إطلاقها في عام 2021 في ربط أكثر من 50,000 موقع من مواقع استعادة الطبيعة في ربوع العالم، كما أنها منصة مجانية يمكن لأي شخص التسجيل عليها. ومن شأن الفوز بجائزة «إيرث شوت» مساعدة منصة «ريستور» على تغيير السبل التي نتبعها في حماية كوكب الأرض وإصلاحه، ويمكن أن تغدو الآلاف من الإجراءات المحلية حركة عالمية سويًا.

 

يمكنكم معرفة المزيد
Royal Foundation

Protect &
Restore Nature Winner

Republic of Costa Rica

Forests are home to half our plants and animals and three quarters of our birds. They suck carbon from the air and return the oxygen we breathe. Yet in 2020 more trees were felled than ever before, causing 10% of global warming.

In the 1990s, the vast forests of Costa Rica were devastated, half their former size. But the people of Costa Rica and their Ministry for Environment had a plan to save them. Its programmes paid citizens to protect forests, plant trees, and restore ecosystems.

The results were extraordinary. Costa Rica’s forests doubled in size. Flora and fauna thrived which led to a boom in ecotourism, contributing $4 billion to the economy.

The government is now taking the approach to urban areas. It believes 30% of the world’s land and oceans could be protected this way too. Winning The Earthshot Prize would help it share knowledge and practices globally, especially in the Global South. Costa Rica’s motto is “pura vida” or “pure life”. Those words could soon echo across the world.

View Website

Our Finalists

We choose to ensure, for the first time in human history, the natural world is growing and not shrinking. Meet the Finalists who are going to help us protect and restore the natural world for generations to come.

Protect & Restore Nature Finalists

The Democratic Republic of the Congo

POLE POLE FOUNDATION

Growing up, John Kahekwa dreamed of working with the endangered gorillas. After becoming a ranger and expert tracker in Kahuzi-Biega National Park, John saw that the future of gorillas and communities were bound together, living in poverty and amidst war in the DRC.

In 1992, Kahekwa founded the Pole Pole Foundation (POPOF) after he asked a poacher why he poached, and the man replied ‘empty stomachs have no ears’. He realised he needed to focus on the root causes of deforestation and bushmeat poaching: poverty and hunger in the community.

Today, the Foundation runs farming projects that grow low-cost, nutritious foods. It helps former poachers gain new skills, while teaching the importance of conservation to the next generation and providing vital support to rangers working in the park. And it has planted four million new trees, creating a buffer between people and the natural world.

Winning The Earthshot Prize would help the Foundation expand their work and secure purchasing agreements with the Global North to develop new products that help protect gorillas.

Meaning “slowly” in Kiswahili, the Pole Pole Foundation proves that, with time and effort, conservation works. From their struggles and successes, they have created a blueprint for conservation that can be replicated across the world, helping people and nature thrive together.

View Website

Protect & Restore Nature Finalists

Switzerland

Restor

Only a fraction of nature restoration projects has lasting impact. Small teams, working alone, lack the data, monitoring tools and resource-sharing needed to succeed. As a result, small-scale efforts can feel futile in the face of global ecological crisis. Dr. Thomas Crowther, founder of Restor, wants that to change.

A free online platform for the restoration movement, Restor is like a Google Maps for nature. It connects practitioners with ecological data and builds networks between activists, funders and the public. For the first time, major scientific datasets are at the fingertips of conservationists, helping local knowledge fuel global change.

Since launching this year, Restor has connected over more than 50,000 restoration sites worldwide. And it is free for anyone to sign up. Winning The Earthshot Prize will help Restor transform how we protect and repair the planet. And together, thousands of local actions can become a global movement.

View Website
Royal Foundation