保护和恢复自然风貌 获奖者

哥斯达黎加

哥斯达黎加

森林是我们一半植物和动物以及四分之三鸟类的家园。森林吸取空气中的碳并回馈我们呼吸的氧气。然而,在 2020 年,遭到砍伐的树木达到空前的程度,为全球变暖推手的 10% 力量。

20 世纪 90 年代,哥斯达黎加的大片森林遭到破坏,只剩之前的一半大小。但哥斯达黎加人民及其环境部制定了拯救森林的计划。他们的计划是向市民支付费用,用以保护森林、植树和恢复生态系统。

结果举世瞩目。哥斯达黎加的森林面积增加了一倍。植被繁茂、动物繁荣促成生态旅游的蓬勃发展,为经济贡献 40 亿美元。

政府现在正将这种方法推广至城市地区。他们相信世界上 30% 的土地和海洋也可以通过这种方式得到保护。赢得“为地球奋斗奖”有助于他们在全球分享知识和做法,特别是在南半球。哥斯达黎加的箴言是 “pura vida” 或“纯粹生活”。这句话可能很快会受到全球效仿。

了解更多

我们的入围者

我们在人类历史上首次选择确保自然不断增长而不是萎缩。我们将把“为地球奋斗奖”授予为应对这一挑战而做出最突出努力的人士。会见通过颠覆性解决方案帮助我们实现为地球奋斗目标的入围者。

保护和恢复自然风貌 入围者

刚果民主共和国

POLE POLE 基金会

在成长过程中,John Kahekwa 梦想着与濒临灭绝的大猩猩一起工作。在成为卡胡兹-别加国家公园的护林员和追踪专家后,John 意识到大猩猩和社区捆绑在一起,共同在刚果民主共和国遭受着贫困和战争的侵袭。

1992 年,Kahekwa 询问一名偷猎者为何偷猎,得到的答案是“饥汉无耳”;于是他成立了 Pole Pole 基金会 (POPOF)。他意识到需要聚焦砍伐森林和偷猎丛林动物的根本原因:社区的贫困和饥饿。

如今,基金会经营着种植低成本、有营养食品的农业项目;帮助曾经偷猎者获得新的技能;同时向下一代传授保护的重要性,并向在公园工作的护林员提供重要支持。基金会还种植了四百万棵新树,在人类和自然界之间建立一个缓冲区。

赢得“为地球奋斗奖”将帮助基金会扩大工作,并获得与北半球的采购协议,开发保护大猩猩的新产品。

Pole Pole 在斯瓦希里语中的意思是“慢慢地”,基金会证明只要付诸时间和努力,保护工作就会成功。他们用奋斗和成功创造了一个可以在世界各地复制的保护蓝图,帮助人类和自然共同繁荣。

了解更多

保护和恢复自然风貌 入围者

瑞士

RESTOR

只有一小部分的自然恢复项目具有持久影响。独自工作的小团队缺乏成功所需的数据、监测工具和资源共享。因此,在全球生态危机面前,小规模的努力可能感到徒劳无功。Crowther 博士人 Thomas Crowtherf 博士希望能改变这种状况。

作为恢复运动的免费在线平台,Restor 就像自然界的谷歌地图。它将从业者与生态数据联系起来,并在活动家、资助者和公众之间建立起网络。主要的科学数据集首次置于环保主义者的指尖上,帮助利用当地知识为全球变化提供动力。

自今年启动以来,该计划已经连接全球 5 万多个恢复点。人人都可以免费注册。赢得“为地球奋斗奖”将帮助 Restor 改变我们保护和恢复地球的方式。而且,数以千计的地方行动可以汇聚成一场全球运动。

了解更多
Royal Foundation

Protect &
Restore Nature Winner

Republic of Costa Rica

Forests are home to half our plants and animals and three quarters of our birds. They suck carbon from the air and return the oxygen we breathe. Yet in 2020 more trees were felled than ever before, causing 10% of global warming.

In the 1990s, the vast forests of Costa Rica were devastated, half their former size. But the people of Costa Rica and their Ministry for Environment had a plan to save them. Its programmes paid citizens to protect forests, plant trees, and restore ecosystems.

The results were extraordinary. Costa Rica’s forests doubled in size. Flora and fauna thrived which led to a boom in ecotourism, contributing $4 billion to the economy.

The government is now taking the approach to urban areas. It believes 30% of the world’s land and oceans could be protected this way too. Winning The Earthshot Prize would help it share knowledge and practices globally, especially in the Global South. Costa Rica’s motto is “pura vida” or “pure life”. Those words could soon echo across the world.

View Website

Our Finalists

We choose to ensure, for the first time in human history, the natural world is growing and not shrinking. Meet the Finalists who are going to help us protect and restore the natural world for generations to come.

Protect & Restore Nature Finalists

The Democratic Republic of the Congo

POLE POLE FOUNDATION

Growing up, John Kahekwa dreamed of working with the endangered gorillas. After becoming a ranger and expert tracker in Kahuzi-Biega National Park, John saw that the future of gorillas and communities were bound together, living in poverty and amidst war in the DRC.

In 1992, Kahekwa founded the Pole Pole Foundation (POPOF) after he asked a poacher why he poached, and the man replied ‘empty stomachs have no ears’. He realised he needed to focus on the root causes of deforestation and bushmeat poaching: poverty and hunger in the community.

Today, the Foundation runs farming projects that grow low-cost, nutritious foods. It helps former poachers gain new skills, while teaching the importance of conservation to the next generation and providing vital support to rangers working in the park. And it has planted four million new trees, creating a buffer between people and the natural world.

Winning The Earthshot Prize would help the Foundation expand their work and secure purchasing agreements with the Global North to develop new products that help protect gorillas.

Meaning “slowly” in Kiswahili, the Pole Pole Foundation proves that, with time and effort, conservation works. From their struggles and successes, they have created a blueprint for conservation that can be replicated across the world, helping people and nature thrive together.

View Website

Protect & Restore Nature Finalists

Switzerland

Restor

Only a fraction of nature restoration projects has lasting impact. Small teams, working alone, lack the data, monitoring tools and resource-sharing needed to succeed. As a result, small-scale efforts can feel futile in the face of global ecological crisis. Dr. Thomas Crowther, founder of Restor, wants that to change.

A free online platform for the restoration movement, Restor is like a Google Maps for nature. It connects practitioners with ecological data and builds networks between activists, funders and the public. For the first time, major scientific datasets are at the fingertips of conservationists, helping local knowledge fuel global change.

Since launching this year, Restor has connected over more than 50,000 restoration sites worldwide. And it is free for anyone to sign up. Winning The Earthshot Prize will help Restor transform how we protect and repair the planet. And together, thousands of local actions can become a global movement.

View Website
Royal Foundation