تنقية هوائنا الفائز

India

تقنية «تَكَشار»

ننتج مخلفات زراعية بقيمة 120 مليار دولار على مستوى العالم سنويًا. وكثيرًا ما يحرق المزارعون الأشياء التي لا يمكنهم بيعها، ممَّا يتسبب في عواقب وخيمة على صحة الإنسان وسلامة البيئة، إذ يتسبب حرق المخلفات الزراعية في تلوث الهواء، وقد نجم عن ذلك في بعض المناطق خفض متوسط العمر المتوقع بمقدار عقد من الزمن.

وتحدث هذه المشكلة سنويًا في الحقول المحيطة بنيودلهي، فالدخان المنبعث من النيران التي يضرمها الإنسان يملأ الهواء، ويتسبب ذلك في عواقب وخيمة على صحة المواطنين، ومنهم الشاب ڤيديوت موهان، وهكذا تعمل مؤسسته الاجتماعية، «تَكَشار»، على إخماد تلك النيران.

نجحت «تَكَشار» في ابتكار تقنية متنقلة ورخيصة يمكن توصيلها بالجرارات الزراعية في الحقول النائية، ويمكن لهذه الآلة تحويل بقايا المحاصيل بسرعة إلى منتجات حيوية عالية القيمة وقابلة للبيع كالوقود والسماد.

تقلل تقنية «تَكَشار» من انبعاثات الدخان بنسبة تصل إلى 98٪، وسيساهم ذلك في تحسين جودة الهواء التي تقلل حاليًا من متوسط العمر المتوقع للسكان المتضرِّرين بما يصل إلى 5 سنوات. وبوسع «تَكَشار» عند تعميمها خفض مليار طن من انبعاثات ثاني أكسيد الكربون سنويًا: فانتصار مزارعي الهند بمثابة انتصار في المعركة العالمية لمكافحة تغير المناخ.

 

يمكنكم معرفة المزيد

متأهلونا

قررنا الحرص على أن يتنفس كل إنسان في العالم هواءً نقيًا وصحيًا؛ وهكذا سنمنح جائزة «إيرث شوت» لأبرز الجهود القادرة على النهوض بهذا التحدي. تعرَّف على المتأهلين الذين سيساعدوننا على تحقيق هذا الهدف من خلال أعمالهم الرائدة.

تنقية هوائنا المتأهلون

China

تطبيق «بلو ماب»

رأى ما جون بعينيه الضرر الناجم عن تلوث الهواء والماء على صحة الإنسان وسلامة كوكب الأرض عندما كان يعمل في مجال الإعلام، فأنشأ تطبيق «بلو ماب» انطلاقًا من إدراكه أنَّ القدرة على قياس التلوث هي السبيل إلى مكافحته.

ويعد تطبيق «بلو ماب» أول قاعدة بيانات بيئية عامة في الصين، إذ يعطي المواطنين الفرصة في استخدام بيانات آنية للدعوة إلى التغيير في مجتمعاتهم، ويمكن للمستخدمين التعرف على جودة الهواء والماء في مدنهم والاطلاع على بيانات التلوث لحظة بلحظة من أكثر من 40,000 مصنع، وتقدَّم مستخدمو تطبيق «بلو ماب» بعشرات الآلاف من «البلاغات المصغرة» ضد المصانع التي تسبب التلوث، كما تشجَّع الآلاف من كبرى المصانع التي تسبب الانبعاثات الكربونية في الصين في التعامل مع سجلات انتهاكاتها بشفافية.

وتمَّ تنزيل تطبيق «بلو ماب» 10 ملايين مرة، وباتت شبكته من المواطنين المهتمين جزءًا من مبادرة أصحاب المصلحة المتعددين التي تعمل على تغيير مدن الصين. وتستعرض بكين الفارق الذي يمكنها إحداثه، إذ تحرز العاصمة الآن تقدمًا سريعًا نحو الخروج من قائمة أكثر 200 مدينة تلوثًا في العالم مع الاستمرار في النهوض باقتصادها. ويطمح «بلو ماب» إلى المساعدة على التوسع في خفض تلوث الهواء والانبعاثات الكربونية في الصين والعالم.

وهكذا يثبت تطبيق «بلو ماب» قوة الشفافية والمساءلة، كما يلقن العالم درسًا: الابتكارات الذكية، يصاحبها مشاركة جمهور المواطنين، لهي سبيل من سبل التقدم.

يمكنكم معرفة المزيد

تنقية هوائنا المتأهلون

India

ڤينيشا أوماشانكر

تبرهن ڤينيشا أوماشانكر التي تعيش في مدينة تيروفانامالاي التابعة لولاية تاميل نادو أنه بوسعك مساعدة البيئة من خلال الابتكار مهمًا صغر سنك. لا يتجاوز عمر ڤينيشا 14 عامًا، وتقدم عربة الكي بالطاقة الشمسية التي ابتكرتها بديلاً نظيفًا لمكاوي الشوارع التي تعمل بالفحم وتكوي الملابس لملايين الهنود يوميًا.

كانت ڤينيشا عائدة من المدرسة إلى منزلها ذات يوم، فرأت عاملاً من عمال كي الملابس يلقي بالفحم المستعمل في القمامة، فساقها فضولها إلى البحث عن أثار الفحم، فعرفت أنَّ الدخان يتسبب في إصابة هؤلاء العمال بأمراض الرئة، وصُدمت حين تعرَّفت على العلاقة بين الفحم وإزالة الغابات؛ إذ تُقطع كميات كبيرة من الأشجار لصنع الفحم سنويًا.

وتستعيض عربة الكي بالطاقة الشمسية التي ابتكرتها ڤينيشا عن الفحم غير النظيف بالطاقة الشمسية النظيفة، إذ تستطيع أشعة الشمس لمدة خمس ساعات تشغيل المكواة لمدة ست ساعات؛ كما يشكل الانتصار للبيئة مكسبًا لهؤلاء العمال، إذ زادت قدرتهم على التنقل، وزادت بذلك قدرتهم على تقديم خدماتهم على أعتاب الأبواب وعلى جانب الطريق، كما تدر نقاط شحن الهاتف المدمجة بالعربة دخلاً إضافيًا، وتخدم عربة الكي إجمالاً 13 من أصل 15 هدفًا من أهداف التنمية المستدامة للأمم المتحدة.

وانطلاقًا من شغفها بالابتكار، تذكر ڤينيشا أنَّ حبها للعلم يعود إلى الموسوعة التي أُهديت إليها في عيد ميلادها الخامس، فغرست في نفسها ولعًا بكيفية عمل الأشياء؛ واشتد هذا الولع حين أدركت قوة الاختراع لعمل الخير.

وتعتزم ڤينيشا تصنيع عربة الكي بالطاقة الشمسية في الهند وبيعها بأسعار ميسورة، وترغب في تصديرها إلى آسيا وإفريقيا وحيثما تشرق الشمس على مدار العام. ويبيَّن نموذج ڤينيشا أنَّ الجيل القادم قادر على بناء غدٍ أنظف من خلال الابتكار اليوم

يُنسب إلى ڤينيشا أوماشانكر
”يشرفني أن أكون بصحبة المتأهلين لنيل لجائزة «إيرث شوت» الأولى عن ابتكاري: عربة الكي بالطاقة الشمسية. فللطاقة الشمسية إمكانات هائلة في الهند وحول العالم، وآمل ألَّا يقتصر ابتكاري على مساعدة عمال كي الملابس فحسب، بل يعود بالخير على البيئة كذلك. وبصفتي أصغر المتأهلين، فأريد إلهام الطلاب في ربوع العالم للاهتمام بالعلوم لابتكار منتجات وحلول لحماية الهواء والماء والأرض للإنسان والحيوان والنبات، إذ تحتاج أرضنا إلى خيرة ’الأفكار‘ لكي تغدو أكثر نظافة وخضرة؛ فلا تجعلن صغر سنك مانعًا بينك وبين إحداث فارق!“

Royal Foundation

Clean Our
Air Winner

India

Takachar

Globally, we generate $120 billion of agricultural waste every year. What farmers cannot sell, they often burn, with catastrophic consequences for human health and the environment. The burning of agricultural waste causes air pollution that in some areas has reduced life expectancy by a decade.

This plays out every year in the fields surrounding New Delhi. Smoke from man-made infernos fills the air, with serious consequences for the health of locals. One of their number is Vidyut Mohan. His social enterprise, Takachar, is putting out the fire.

Takachar has developed a cheap, small-scale, portable technology that attaches to tractors in remote farms. The machine converts crop residues into sellable bio-products like fuel and fertilizer.

Takachar’s technology reduces smoke emissions by up to 98% which will help improve the air quality that currently reduces the affected population’s life expectancy by up to 5 years. If scaled, it could cut a billion tonnes of carbon dioxide a year: a win for India’s farmers will be a win in the fight against climate change.

View Website

Our Finalists

We choose to ensure that everyone in the world breathes clean, healthy air. Meet the Finalists who are going to help us clean our air with their ground-breaking work.

Clean Our Air Finalists

China

The Blue Map App

Ma Jun saw first-hand the impact of air and water pollution on human and planetary health when he worked for the media. Realising that to fight pollution you first have to measure it, he founded the Blue Map.

Blue Map is China’s first public environmental database, giving citizens the opportunity to use real time data to advocate for change in their communities. Users can check local air and water quality and get real-time pollution data from more than 40,000 factories. Tens of thousands of “micro-reporting” has been filed by Blue Map users against polluting factories and thousands of some of the largest emitters in China have been motivated to openly address their violation records.

With 10 million downloads, Blue Map’s network of concerned citizens becomes part of the multi-stakeholder initiative that is changing China’s cities. Beijing shows the difference it can make. The capital is now making progress toward no longer being among the 200 most polluted cities in the world while continuing to strengthen its economy. The ambition for Blue Map is to empower synergized air pollution and carbon emission reduction in China and then globally.

Blue Map demonstrates the power of transparency and accountability. It also teaches the world a lesson — that clever innovation, combined with public participation, is a recipe for progress.

View Website

Clean Our Air Finalists

India

Vinisha Umashankar

Vinisha Umashankar of Tiruvannamalai, Tamil Nadu, proves you are never too young to help the environment through innovation. Aged just 14, her solar-powered ironing cart is a clean alternative to the charcoal powered street irons that press clothes for millions of Indians each day.

One day, on the way home from school, Vinisha saw an ironing vendor dumping charcoal in the garbage. Curious, she began researching the impact of charcoal. She saw how smoke causes lung disease among vendors. And she was shocked to learn of the connection between charcoal and deforestation — each year industrial quantities of trees are felled to make charcoal.

Vinisha’s solar powered cart replaces dirty charcoal with clean energy from the sun. Five hours of sunshine powers the iron for six hours – a win for the environment is also a win for vendors. Extra mobility means they can sell on doorsteps as well as the roadside. Built in phone top up and charging points bring extra income too. Overall, the ironing cart helps 13 of the 15 UN Sustainable Development Goals.

Passionate about innovation, Vinisha traces her love of science to the encyclopaedia she received on her fifth birthday. It instilled a fascination about how things work – one that intensified as she realised the power of invention to do good.

Vinisha plans to manufacture the solar ironing cart in India and sell it at an affordable price. She wants to export it to Asia, Africa and wherever the sun shines throughout the year. Vinisha’s example shows that by innovating today, the next generation can create a cleaner tomorrow.

Royal Foundation