携手让空气变得更洁净 获奖者

印度

TAKACHAR

全球每年产生 1,200 亿美元的农业废物。农民卖不掉的东西往往被烧掉,从而对人类健康和环境造成灾难性后果。农业废物的焚烧造成空气污染,在一些地区使人的预期寿命缩短十年。

这种情况每年都在新德里周围的田地上演。来自人造地狱的烟尘弥漫空气,给当地人的健康造成严重后果。Vidyut Mohan 就是致力于改变这种状况的人之一。他的社会企业 Takachar 正在解决这一难题。

Takachar 开发出一种廉价、小规模、便携式技术,可以附在偏远农场的拖拉机上。机器可将作物残余物转化为可销售的生物产品,如燃料和肥料。

Takachar 的技术可以减少高达 98% 的烟尘排放,有助于改善目前使受影响人口的预期寿命减少多达 5 年的空气质量。如果扩大规模,该技术可每年减少 10 亿吨的二氧化碳排放:印度农民的胜利将是应对气候变化的胜利。

了解更多

我们的入围者

我们选择确保世界上每个人都能呼吸到清洁、健康的空气。我们将把“为地球奋斗奖”授予为应对这一挑战而做出最突出努力的人士。会见通过开创性工作帮助我们实现为地球奋斗目标的入围者。

携手让空气变得更洁净 入围者

中国

蔚蓝地图 APP

马军在为媒体工作时亲眼目睹了空气和水污染对人类和地球健康的影响。他意识到,要与污染作斗争,首先必须对其进行测量,因此创立了蔚蓝地图。

蔚蓝地图是中国第一个公共环境数据库,让公民有机会使用实时数据来倡导社区作出变革。用户可以检查当地空气和水的质量,并获得超过 4 万家工厂的实时污染数据。蔚蓝地图用户对污染工厂提出了数以万计的“微举报”,并促使中国一些最大的排放者公开处理其违规记录。

凭借 1000 万次的下载,蔚蓝地图的相关市民网络已成为改变中国城市的多方利益相关者倡议的一部分。北京展示了该倡议能带来的变化。首都现在正在摆脱世界 200 个污染最严重城市,同时继续加强其经济。蔚蓝地图的目标是在中国和全球实现空气污染和碳排放的协同减少。

蔚蓝地图展示了透明度和问责制的力量。它也给世界上的人上了一课——巧妙创新结合公众参与是进步的秘诀。

了解更多

携手让空气变得更洁净 入围者

印度

VINISHA UMASHANKAR

泰米尔纳德邦蒂鲁文纳默莱的 Vinisha Umashankar 向你证明,你永远不会因为太年轻而不能通过创新来保护环境。年仅 14 岁的她发明的太阳能熨烫车是一种清洁替代品,可以替代每天为数百万印度人熨衣服的街头木炭熨斗。

有一天,在放学回家的路上,Vinisha 看到一个熨衣服的小贩把木炭倒在垃圾桶里。出于好奇,她开始研究木炭的影响。她了解到烟尘如何导致小贩罹患肺病。她还震惊地知道木炭和森林砍伐之间的联系——每年有大量的树木被砍伐来制造木炭。

Vinisha 的太阳能推车使用来自太阳的清洁能源取代了肮脏的木炭。五个小时的阳光可以为熨斗提供六个小时的动力——环境的胜利也是小贩的胜利。额外的流动性意味着他们可以在门前和路边销售。内置的电话充值和充电点还带来了额外收入。总体而言,熨烫车有助于实现联合国 15 项可持续发展目标中的 13 项。

Vinisha 对创新充满热情,她对科学的热爱可以追溯到五岁生日时收到的百科全书。这本百科全书让她迷恋探究事物如何运作——当她意识到发明的力量可以做好事时,这种迷恋更加强烈。

Vinisha 计划在印度生产并平价出售太阳能熨烫车。她想把出口到亚洲、非洲和一年中阳光普照的地方。Vinisha 的例子表明,通过今天的创新,下一代人可以创造一个更清洁的明天。

Royal Foundation

Clean Our
Air Winner

India

Takachar

Globally, we generate $120 billion of agricultural waste every year. What farmers cannot sell, they often burn, with catastrophic consequences for human health and the environment. The burning of agricultural waste causes air pollution that in some areas has reduced life expectancy by a decade.

This plays out every year in the fields surrounding New Delhi. Smoke from man-made infernos fills the air, with serious consequences for the health of locals. One of their number is Vidyut Mohan. His social enterprise, Takachar, is putting out the fire.

Takachar has developed a cheap, small-scale, portable technology that attaches to tractors in remote farms. The machine converts crop residues into sellable bio-products like fuel and fertilizer.

Takachar’s technology reduces smoke emissions by up to 98% which will help improve the air quality that currently reduces the affected population’s life expectancy by up to 5 years. If scaled, it could cut a billion tonnes of carbon dioxide a year: a win for India’s farmers will be a win in the fight against climate change.

View Website

Our Finalists

We choose to ensure that everyone in the world breathes clean, healthy air. Meet the Finalists who are going to help us clean our air with their ground-breaking work.

Clean Our Air Finalists

China

The Blue Map App

Ma Jun saw first-hand the impact of air and water pollution on human and planetary health when he worked for the media. Realising that to fight pollution you first have to measure it, he founded the Blue Map.

Blue Map is China’s first public environmental database, giving citizens the opportunity to use real time data to advocate for change in their communities. Users can check local air and water quality and get real-time pollution data from more than 40,000 factories. Tens of thousands of “micro-reporting” has been filed by Blue Map users against polluting factories and thousands of some of the largest emitters in China have been motivated to openly address their violation records.

With 10 million downloads, Blue Map’s network of concerned citizens becomes part of the multi-stakeholder initiative that is changing China’s cities. Beijing shows the difference it can make. The capital is now making progress toward no longer being among the 200 most polluted cities in the world while continuing to strengthen its economy. The ambition for Blue Map is to empower synergized air pollution and carbon emission reduction in China and then globally.

Blue Map demonstrates the power of transparency and accountability. It also teaches the world a lesson — that clever innovation, combined with public participation, is a recipe for progress.

View Website

Clean Our Air Finalists

India

Vinisha Umashankar

Vinisha Umashankar of Tiruvannamalai, Tamil Nadu, proves you are never too young to help the environment through innovation. Aged just 14, her solar-powered ironing cart is a clean alternative to the charcoal powered street irons that press clothes for millions of Indians each day.

One day, on the way home from school, Vinisha saw an ironing vendor dumping charcoal in the garbage. Curious, she began researching the impact of charcoal. She saw how smoke causes lung disease among vendors. And she was shocked to learn of the connection between charcoal and deforestation — each year industrial quantities of trees are felled to make charcoal.

Vinisha’s solar powered cart replaces dirty charcoal with clean energy from the sun. Five hours of sunshine powers the iron for six hours – a win for the environment is also a win for vendors. Extra mobility means they can sell on doorsteps as well as the roadside. Built in phone top up and charging points bring extra income too. Overall, the ironing cart helps 13 of the 15 UN Sustainable Development Goals.

Passionate about innovation, Vinisha traces her love of science to the encyclopaedia she received on her fifth birthday. It instilled a fascination about how things work – one that intensified as she realised the power of invention to do good.

Vinisha plans to manufacture the solar ironing cart in India and sell it at an affordable price. She wants to export it to Asia, Africa and wherever the sun shines throughout the year. Vinisha’s example shows that by innovating today, the next generation can create a cleaner tomorrow.

Royal Foundation