Skip to main content

The Earthshot Prize and Bloomberg Philanthropies Announce Speakers for The Second Earthshot Prize Innovation Summit

Today, The Earthshot Prize and Bloomberg Philanthropies confirmed speakers for The Earthshot Prize Innovation Summit on September 19, 2023 at the Plaza Hotel in New York City.

The second Innovation Summit, held during New York Climate Week and the 78th Session of the UN General Assembly, will bring the 2022 Earthshot Prize Winners and Finalists together with policymakers, global business leaders, philanthropists, and climate activists to further spotlight and scale their solutions to address the world’s most crucial environmental challenges. During the Summit, the fifteen 2023 Earthshot Prize Finalists, each eligible to receive one of five £1 million prizes to be awarded at The Earthshot Prize awards ceremony in Singapore on November 7, will be revealed.

Prince William, founder of The Earthshot Prize, will attend alongside Michael R. Bloomberg, the UN Secretary-General’s Special Envoy on Climate Ambition and Solutions and Global Advisor to the Winners of The Earthshot Prize. They will welcome a number of speakers and special guests including: José Andrés, Chef and Founder of World Central Kitchen; The Rt Hon Dame Jacinda Ardern, Trustee, The Earthshot Prize; The Honorable Dr. Vivian Balakrishnan, Minister for Foreign Affairs of Singapore; Emily Chang, Host & Executive Producer, Bloomberg Originals; Bill Gates, Co-Chair of the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation and Founder of Breakthrough Energy; The Honorable Caroline Kennedy, U.S. Ambassador to Australia; Nomzamo Mbatha, Actress, Humanitarian, and UNHCR Goodwill Ambassador; Rt Hon Patricia Scotland KC, The Commonwealth Secretary-General; Maroš Šefčovič, European Commission Executive Vice President for the European Green Deal, and others.

The Earthshot Prize’s 2022 Finalists will be in attendance to highlight their progress and impact over the past year, while spotlighting the Prize’s five key pillars of climate solutions: Protect and Restore Nature, Clean Our Air, Revive Our Oceans, Build A Waste-Free World, and Fix Our Climate. Many of the soon-to-be-announced 2023 Finalists will also be at the summit to celebrate this milestone.

The 2022 Earthshot Prize Finalists and Winners addressing the event include: Natasha Boulding, Founder & CEO, Low Carbon Materials; Rodrigo Garcia Gonzalez, Co-Founder & Co-CEO, Notpla; Talal Hasan, Founder & CEO, 44.01; Jennifer Holmgren, CEO, LanzaTech; Kaushik Kappagantulu, Co-Founder & CEO, Kheyti; Charlot Magayi, Founder & CEO, Mukuru Clean Stoves; Brandon Ng, Co-Founder & CEO, Ampd Energy; and Pierre Paslier, Co-CEO, Notpla.

Watch the Earthshot Prize Innovation Summit here

We will be live streaming the event on The Earthshot prize LinkedIn on September the 19th at 12:30PM EDT. 

The Earthshot Prize