Skip to main content

Ric Lewis joins The Earthshot Prize Board of Trustees

Ric Lewis, Board Trustee

Ric Lewis, Executive Chairman and Chief Investment Officer of Tristan Capital Partners, has joined the Board of Trustees of The Earthshot Prize.

Mr. Lewis brings a wealth of expertise in sustainability and a deep understanding of the intersection between business success and environmental responsibility. He brings over 30 years of non-profit management experience, having founded The Black Heart Foundation in 2000, a charity dedicated to improving educational outcomes for under- resourced young people.

“I am honored to join the Earthshot Prize Board of Trustees and contribute to its vital mission of accelerating global efforts to protect and restore our planet. The Earthshot Prize has set a new bar for innovation in the global fight against climate change, and I look forward to driving meaningful change through their work alongside my fellow Trustees.”

Ric Lewis, Trustee, The Earthshot Prize

The Earthshot Prize Board of Trustees brings independent, diverse, and expert perspectives to guide and oversee The Earthshot Prize as it continues to scale and achieve its ambition to repair and regenerate the planet.

Christiana Figueres, Chair of the Board of Trustees of The Earthshot Prize, said:

“Ric’s passion for sustainability and his proven track record in driving positive change make him an invaluable addition to the Earthshot Prize team. His expertise will further strengthen our collective efforts to address urgent environmental issues and create a more sustainable future.”

Mr. Lewis joins a distinguished group of Trustees including:

Christiana Figueres, Chair of the Board and a Member of The Earthshot Prize Council since 2020. She is the co-founder of Global Optimism and former UN Climate Chief responsible for the delivery of the landmark Paris Agreement on Climate Change in 2015.

David Fein, Vice Chair and Special Counsel at Paul Weiss, Rifkind, Wharton & Garrison LLP. He has a long history of working with The Prince of Wales and The Royal Foundation as Chair of The Royal Foundation’s United for Wildlife Financial Taskforce.

Jacinda Ardern, Former Prime Minister of New Zealand and Visiting Fellow at Harvard Kennedy School.

Tokunboh Ishamael, Founding Trustee and co-founder and Managing Director of Alitheia Capital, a pioneer ESG and Impact Investing Fund Management firm.

M Sanjayan, CEO of Conservation International, an environmental non-profit dedicated to protecting the nature humanity needs, which has been a supportive Global Alliance Partner since The Earthshot Prize launched in 2020.

Jason Knauf, Global Leadership Fellow at Conservation International who has worked on the Prize since its conception in his former role as CEO of The Royal Foundation of The Duke and Duchess of Cambridge.

Zoë Ware, former Assistant Private Secretary to The Duke of Cambridge, who oversaw the creation of The Earthshot Prize from Kensington Palace and now works for the Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Office.

Ian Patrick, in an ex-officio role as the Private Secretary to The Prince of Wales.

The Earthshot Prize unveiled its third cohort of Finalists in September 2023, announcing three Finalists in each of the five Earthshot Prize Categories: Protect and Restore Nature; Clean our Air; Revive our Oceans; Build a Waste-free World; and Fix our Climate. The 2023 Finalists – and five Winners – were celebrated at an awards ceremony in Singapore in November 2023.

The fourth cohort of Earthshot Prize Finalists will be announced this autumn with Winners awarded at a Ceremony hosted later in 2024 in Cape Town.

Sign up to our newsletter for more like this

Related articles

The Earthshot Prize