Skip to main content

The Earthshot Prize and Bloomberg Philanthropies announce speakers and participants for The Earthshot Prize Innovation Summit

Today, The Earthshot Prize and Bloomberg Philanthropies previewed confirmed speakers and programming for The Earthshot Innovation Summit, which will take place on the morning of September 21, 2022 at The Plaza Hotel in New York City. The Summit, hosted by Michael R. Bloomberg, the UN Secretary-General’s Special Envoy on Climate Ambition and Solutions, will bring together heads of state, government and civil society leaders, philanthropists, business executives, and grassroots climate activists from around the world to spotlight emerging, systems-changing solutions and showcase the critical need to turbocharge ground-breaking climate innovations to address the world’s most pressing environmental challenges.

Michael R. Bloomberg, Global Advisor to the Winners of The Earthshot Prize, will welcome a number of speakers and special guests including Her Majesty Queen Rania Al Abdullah, Member of The Earthshot Prize Council; Alexandra Cousteau, Senior Advisor to Oceana; Alyssa Gaines, 2022 National Youth Poet Laureate; Anne Hidalgo, Mayor of Paris; Bill Gates, Co-Chair, Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation and Founder, Breakthrough Energy; Brad Smith, President, Microsoft; The Honorable Caroline Kennedy, U.S. Ambassador to Australia; Cate Blanchett, Actor and Member of The Earthshot Prize Council;Christiana Figueres, Chair of The Earthshot Prize and Former Executive Secretary of the UN Framework Convention on Climate Change; Ambassador Cindy McCain, US Ambassador, United Nations Agencies for Food and Agriculture; Fred Krupp, President, Environmental Defense Fund; Gayle Smith, CEO, One Campaign; Hannah Jones, CEO, The Earthshot Prize; Hindou Oumarou Ibrahim, Member of The Earthshot Prize Council; Joy Harjo, 23rd United States Poet Laureate; Matt Damon, Actor and Activist, Co-Founder,; Urban Word NYC Youth Poets; Rev. Lennox Yearwood, CEO and President, Hip Hop Caucus; Mindy Lubber, CEO and President, Ceres; Tokunboh Ishmael, Founding Trustee, Co-Founder, and Managing Director of Alitheia Capital; Ruth Porat, Senior Vice President & Chief Financial Officer, Alphabet and Google; and Oscar the Grouch.

The inaugural Finalists and Winners of The Earthshot Prize that will join the event include: Clara Rowe, CEO, Restor; David Auerbach, Co-Founder, Sanergy; Dr. Enric Sala, Founder, Pristine Seas and National Geographic Explorer in Residence; Olugbenga Olubanjo, Founder & CEO, Reeddi; Samuel Teicher and Gator Halpern, Co-Founders, Coral Vita; Dr. Sebastian Groh, Founder and CEO, SOLshare; Vaitea Cowan, Co-Founder, Enapter; Vidyut Mohan, Co- Founder & CEO, Takachar; and Yosuke Maeda and Ryo Yamada, Co-Founders, WOTA.

Details on the event, which will be held from 8:00am-12:30pm ET at The Plaza Hotel in New York City, can be found here. Media interested in attending The Earthshot Prize Innovation Summit can submit their request here.

Alongside the 77th session of the United Nations General Assembly, The Earthshot Prize Innovation Summit will connect the next generation of climate leaders and visionaries with leaders in government, business, philanthropy, and finance – with the goal of scaling remarkable environmental solutions that are repairing our planet. The Summit’s mainstage program will feature keynote remarks, panel discussions, fireside chats, and presentations celebrating The Earthshot Prize’s 2021 Finalists and spotlighting the Prize’s five key pillars of climate solutions: Protect and Restore Nature, Clean Our Air, Revive Our Oceans, Build A Waste-Free World, and Fix Our Climate.

The Earthshot Prize