الإعلان عن القائمة العالمية لأعضاء مجلس جائزة «إيرث شوت»

انضم فريق عالمي يتألَّف من رموز بارزة من ميادين العمل البيئي والخيري وعالم الأعمال والرياضة والترفيه إلى سمو الأمير ويليام في عضوية مجلس جائزة «إيرث شوت».

وتعد جائزة «إيرث شوت» التي دُشِّنت اليوم أرقى جائزة في التاريخ للحفاظ على البيئة، وترمي إلى إحداث تغيير والمساعدة على إصلاح كوكبنا على مدار الأعوام العشرة القادمة، وتبلغ قيمة الجائزة 50 مليون جنيه إسترليني، وتهدف إلى توفير ما لا يقل عن 50 حلًا لأخطر المشكلات البيئية بحلول العام 2030، وقد استُوحيت جائزة «إيرث شوت» من مبادرة «مون شوت» التي أطلقها الرئيس الأمريكي جون كينيدي ووحَّدت ملايين البشر حول هدف تنظيمي واحد يتمثَّل في هبوط الإنسان على سطح القمر، وكانت الباعث وراء تطوير التكنولوجيا الجديدة في ستينيات القرن العشرين؛ وترتكز جائزة «إيرث شوت» على خمسة أهداف رئيسية – وهي أهداف مخصصة لكوكبنا تتسم ببساطتها وطموحها وقدرتها إنْ تمكَّنا من تحقيقها بحلول العام 2030 على تحسين حياتنا جميعًا وحياة الأجيال القادمة.

ويضم مجلس جائزة «إيرث شوت» نخبة عالمية من الشخصيات البارزة من مختلف القطاعات، وهم يلتزمون جميعًا بتصدُّر مسيرة العمل المثمر في مجال البيئة، وينضم اليوم إلى سمو الأمير ويليام في عضوية مجلس جائزة «إيرث شوت» كلٌ من:

• جلالة الملكة رانيا العبد الله (الأردن)؛

• كيت بلانشيت – ممثلة ومنتجة ومحبَّة للعمل الإنساني (أستراليا)

• كريستيانا فيجويريس – رئيسة ملف تغير المُناخ بالأمم المتحدة سابقًا وكانت مسئولة عن إبرام اتفاقية باريس للمناخ التاريخية (كوستاريكا)؛

• داني ألفيس – لاعب كرة قدم محترف (البرازيل)؛

• السير ديفيد آتينبارا – مذيع تليفزيوني ومؤرخ للطبيعة (المملكة المتحدة)

• هندو عمارو إبراهيم – ناشطة بيئية (تشاد)؛

• إندرا نويي – مديرة أعمال والرئيسة والمديرة التنفيذية السابقة لشركة بيبسيكو (الولايات المتحدة والهند)؛

• جاك ما – من محبِّي الأعمال الخيرية ورائد أعمال ومن أنصار مجموعة الأمم المتحدة للتنمية المستدامة (الصين)؛

• ناوكو يامازاكي – رائدة فضاء سابقة كانت على متن محطة الفضاء الدولية (اليابان)؛

• الدكتورة نجوزي أكونجو إيويلا – خبيرة في الشؤون الاقتصادية والتنمية الدولية (نيجيريا)؛

• شاكيرا – مطربة ومن محبِّي الأعمال الخيرية (كولومبيا)؛

• ياو مينج – من رموز قاعة نايسميث لمشاهير كرة السلة ومن دعاة الحفاظ على البيئة (الصين).

وسنعلن خلال الأشهر المقبلة عن انضمام أعضاء آخرين لمجلس جائزة «إيرث شوت» مع توسُّع التحالف العالمي الذي يدعم الجائزة.

ففي كل عام بداية من العام 2021 حتَّى العام 2030، سيمنح مجلس جائزة «إيرث شوت» الجائزة لخمسة فائزين، بواقع فائز لكل هدف من أهداف الجائزة، ممَّن تساهم حلولهم القائمة على الأدلة في تحقيق الأهداف الخمسة لجائزة «إيرث شوت»:

• حماية الطبيعة وإصلاحها

• تنقية هوائنا

• إحياء محيطاتنا

• بناء عالم خالٍ من النفايات

• إصلاح مُناخنا

وستدعم عملية التحكيم لجنة تضم نخبة من الخبراء، بحيث تقدم توصيات لمجلس الجائزة الذي سيختار الفائزين النهائيين، على أنَّه يمكن منح الجائزة لعددٍ كبير من الأفراد أو الفرق أو الشراكات – ومنهم العلماء والنشطاء ورجال الاقتصاد والزعماء والحكومات والمصارف ومؤسسات الأعمال والمدن والبلدان – بل لأي إنسان يحدث تطورًا كبيرًا أو مساهمة لافتة في حل هذه التحديات البيئية. وسيحصل كل فائز على جائزة بقيمة مليون جنيه إسترليني ستُستخدم لدعم المشروعات المتفق عليها والرامية إلى الحفاظ على البيئة والطبيعة، وسيحظون كذلك بتقدير العالم أجمع، وسيتلقون دعمًا كبيرًا للارتقاء بحلولهم.

هذا وسنصدر بمناسبة تدشين الجائزة فيلمًا يظهر فيه سمو الأمير ويليام والسير ديفيد آتينبارا معًا في قصر كنسينجتون وهما يتحدثان عن شغفهما بالبيئة والدور المحوري الذي يمكن لجائزة «إيرث شوت» أن تؤديه في إصلاح كوكبنا على مدار الأعوام العشرة القادمة، ويظهر في الفيلم أيضًا كل عضو من الأحد عشر عضوًا الآخرين بمجلس جائزة «إيرث شوت» المُعلن عنهم الذين يشرحون دوافعهم للمشاركة في جائزة «إيرث شوت» ومختلف التحديات البيئية التي يواجهها العالم.

In the coming months, further members of The Earthshot Prize Council will be announced as the global coalition supporting the Prize expands.

Every year from 2021 until 2030, The Earthshot Prize Council will award The Earthshot Prize to five winners, one per Earthshot, whose evidence-based solutions make the most progress towards the five Earthshots:

  • Protect and restore nature
  • Clean our air
  • Revive our oceans
  • Build a waste-free world
  • Fix our climate

A distinguished panel of experts will support the judging process, making recommendations to the Prize Council who will select the final winners. The Prize could be awarded to a wide range of individuals, teams or collaborations – scientists, activists, economists, leaders, governments, banks, businesses, cities, and countries – anyone who is making a substantial development or outstanding contribution to solving these environmental challenges.  Each winner will receive a one million-pound reward that will be used to support agreed environmental and conservation projects as well as large-scale public recognition and significant support to scale their solution.

To mark the launch of the Prize, a short film has been released which sees Prince William and Sir David Attenborough together at Kensington Palace, speaking about their passion for the environment and the critical role that The Earthshot Prize can play in repairing our planet over the next ten years.  The film also features each of the 11 other announced members of The Earthshot Prize Council, who explain their motivations for becoming involved in The Earthshot Prize and the differing environmental challenges faced globally.

The Earthshot Prize Council

Royal Foundation

Global list of Prize Council Members unveiled

A global team of high-profile leaders from the environmental, philanthropic, business, sporting and entertainment worlds have joined Prince William as members of The Earthshot Prize Council.

The Earthshot Prize, which launched today, is the most prestigious global environment prize in history and aims to incentivise change and help to repair our planet over the next 10 years.  The £50 million prize will provide at least 50 solutions to the world’s greatest environmental problems by 2030.  Taking inspiration from President John F. Kennedy’s Moonshot which united millions of people around an organising goal to put man on the moon and catalysed the development of new technology in the 1960s, The Earthshot Prize is centred around five ‘Earthshots’ – simple but ambitious goals for our planet which if achieved by 2030 will improve life for us all, for generations to come.

The Earthshot Prize Council is a truly global list of influential individuals from a wide range of different sectors, all of whom are committed to championing positive action in the environmental space.  Joining Prince William as members of The Earthshot Prize Council today are:

  • Her Majesty Queen Rania Al Abdullah (Jordan);
  • Cate Blanchett – actor, producer and humanitarian (Australia);
  • Christiana Figueres – Former UN climate chief, responsible for the landmark Paris Agreement on Climate Change (Costa Rica);
  • Dani Alves – professional footballer (Brazil);
  • Sir David Attenborough – broadcaster and natural historian (UK);
  • Hindou Oumarou Ibrahim – environmental activist (Chad);
  • Indra Nooyi – business executive and former Chairman & CEO of PepsiCo (US & India);
  • Jack Ma – philanthropist, entrepreneur and UNSDG Advocate (China);
  • Naoko Yamazaki – former astronaut onboard the International Space Station (Japan);
  • Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala – economist and international development expert (Nigeria);
  • Shakira – singer and philanthropist (Colombia);
  • Yao Ming – Naismith Basketball Hall of Famer and environmentalist (China).

 

In the coming months, further members of The Earthshot Prize Council will be announced as the global coalition supporting the Prize expands.

Every year from 2021 until 2030, The Earthshot Prize Council will award The Earthshot Prize to five winners, one per Earthshot, whose evidence-based solutions make the most progress towards the five Earthshots:

  • Protect and restore nature
  • Clean our air
  • Revive our oceans
  • Build a waste-free world
  • Fix our climate

A distinguished panel of experts will support the judging process, making recommendations to the Prize Council who will select the final winners. The Prize could be awarded to a wide range of individuals, teams or collaborations – scientists, activists, economists, leaders, governments, banks, businesses, cities, and countries – anyone who is making a substantial development or outstanding contribution to solving these environmental challenges.  Each winner will receive a one million-pound reward that will be used to support agreed environmental and conservation projects as well as large-scale public recognition and significant support to scale their solution.

To mark the launch of the Prize, a short film has been released which sees Prince William and Sir David Attenborough together at Kensington Palace, speaking about their passion for the environment and the critical role that The Earthshot Prize can play in repairing our planet over the next ten years.  The film also features each of the 11 other announced members of The Earthshot Prize Council, who explain their motivations for becoming involved in The Earthshot Prize and the differing environmental challenges faced globally.

The Earthshot Prize Council

Royal Foundation